…Friend that You Wish to Have and Keep

Friendship Quote

As my husband and I have rejoiced over the new, wonderful season we’re walking into, many of our closest friends have in turn rejoiced with and for us. Recently, NS gifted us with a wonderfully, wise book; LM surprised me with a pretty bouquet of flowers in my favorite color; SH followed up with an Edible Arrangement that I didn’t know I needed in my life (until that moment); KS thought enough of us to speak such life and encouragement via text at the crack of dawn one morning; BS & VS have given their hearts and unending support; and amongst other caring gestures, we’re so thankful that countless friends have offered their prayers and extreme excitement (specific shout out to my CF for her shouts).

I’ve mentioned before that I have the greatest friends, here. In the last several weeks, their aforementioned expressions of love have reminded me of just that. It’s both funny and heart warming to think that just years ago, I actually prayed for genuine, ride or die and selfless friends. It was at a time that I felt as if a lot of those that I called friends didn’t have the same heart for me, and a time when I did not have any ‘true’ friends in my local vicinity. But, boy, has God answered in ways that have far exceeding my expectations. For lack of a better term, He weeded out the people who were less than the greatest influences with ease – just because I asked; He revealed to me the hearts of longterm friends and He gave me an amazing, new addition of friends – just because I asked.

All in all, I am grateful for my true, loving, lasting, fruitful relationships. And, as with each gift, comes the responsibility of stewarding over it well. To consistently be the friend that I wish to have and keep, is my goal, and to in turn, actively appreciate the gifts God has given me.

Some time ago, my college roomie, EE, shared with me practical ways that her Pastor encourages us to be the type of friend we’ve been called to be. These practices have influenced and blessed my life, and helped me to strive toward my goal. Therefore, as we ask and thank God for the meaningful relationships that we have, let’s be motivated to continually be the following kind of friend.

Note: These tips have been loosely adapted from the Pastor’s guidance.

  • Committed – There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 18:24 (NLT)
  • Confidential – A gossip can’t be trusted with a secret, but someone of integrity won’t violate a confidence. Proverbs 11:13 (MSG)
  • Honest – An open rebuke is better than hidden love! Wounds from a sincere friend are better than many kisses from an enemy. Proverbs 27:5-6 (NLT); An honest answer is like a kiss of friendship. Proverbs 24:26 (NLT)
  • Edifying – Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. Ephesians 4:29 (NLT)
  • Enhancing – As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend. Proverbs 27:17 (NLT)
  • Prayerful – …Pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. James 5:16
  • ForgivingLove prospers when a fault is forgiven, but dwelling on it separates close friends. Proverbs 17:9 (NLT)
  • Loving & Selfless – There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. John 15:13 (NLT)

To each of my friends chosen family, you are literally an answer to my prayer. Thank you for exactly who you are and the role you play in my life. I pray that I am the friend to you, that you are to me. Love you mucho.

12 thoughts on “…Friend that You Wish to Have and Keep

  1. Reading that genuine friendship is something you prayed for is touching my heart in such a way. I am continuously grateful that God saw me fit to be an answer to your prayer! What an honor.

    Suffice it to say I love and MM more than words can express. Thank you for letting me walk through this season with you as your friend, sister and little boo.

    (I’m way too emotional right now)

    I love you!
    SH.

  2. Such a wonderful reminder that God cares deeply who we walk through life with and desires to bless us with a deep sense of family & belonging in our friendships! So blessed to know, love, and celebrate you =)

    • Yes, I could not agree more, Ebony! He’s so intentional in everything – even the things we may not think are that important. I’m thankful for you!

  3. What a beautiful expression! As my birthday came and went, I too have been thinking a lot about life – my life over the past year, and the people that God chose to weave in and out of it. Though I may not understand every strategic move that he decides to make on my behalf (not my will, but thine be done), I KNOW that HE loves me. As if it wasn’t enough that he gave his only begotten son (for me), he gave me a host of great supporters – family, friends and co-workers morphed into some people that I now couldn’t imagine life without ; ) Just before getting ready to settle down for the night, and before reading your post, was thinking about how true friendship has been an invaluable asset to me and about how I vow to be a better friend to those in my circle. This was confirmation that my heart and head are in the right place! You started out as Shekea, but you’re so much more (and less = “KEA”) than that!

    You’re such a great, hungry FRIEND (LOL) and I am grateful…You inspire me.

    Hugs! Kenya

    • Oh KENYA! You went and got mushy on me! I’m really thankful that I could play a role in the confirmation of what God has placed on your heart. Thank you so much for your support…thank you so much for your heart and friendship! Your words mean A LOT to me! XO

  4. Love this breakdown and buildup of friendship, my dear! You know I love you and so glad that I found a CF in you. I didn’t know what I was missing and then God sent me an unexpected gift. I can’t wait to see how we grow, develop and mature as the years go by. XOXO

What are your thoughts?

